Committees Debate at Model Congress Spring Conference

Manan Manchanda ‘19
EE Co-News Editor

This week, Model Congress had their second ever school-wide conference. For several hours after school, students debated a wide variety of topics, such as net neutrality, improved rehabilitation in prisons, and mandatory vaccinations for schooling children. Students were organized into two committees: the House Ethics Committee, and the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee.

The conference was a great success, with heated debate on a wide variety of topics, allowing our students to use their critical thinking skills and further develop their abilities to be able to think on their feet.

Derek Marble (‘18), a member of Model Congress’s executive board, was one of the chairs of the Ethics Committee. He reflects on his experience, “Having participated in the Ethics committee multiple times before as a delegate, I was really excited to have the opportunity to chair for our two sessions. I thought the debate that happened in my room was very engaging and intellectual, and I look forward to seeing how these students will perform in larger conferences next year.”

Ethan Bachand (‘18), explains the benefits of having such a conference and seeing the talent that the club has and will have over the next couple of years. “It was a great opportunity for new members of the club to experience what a committee session would be like at a big conference. It seemed to go really well, as we got positive responses from everyone in attendance. Hopefully this can provide a springboard into the next year of the club.”

Jacob Fried (‘17), a Co-President of the club, had his final Model Congress event. “I’d say that it was bittersweet to have my final Model Congress event”, he says. “I’m really going to miss being part of such a special club, and I’m going to miss all of the people that I’ve come to know over the past four years. But it was also a great way to end my time in the club because I was able to see the amazing potential of all of the underclassmen who competed, and I’m glad that they will be able to carry on the legacy with the club in their hands next year.”

Students won awards in both committees, and are listed as follows:

House Ethics Committee:

Best Delegate: Kyle Beck

Honorable Mentions: Manan Manchanda and Laura Rosales

Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee:

Best Delegate: Adith Velavan

Honorable Mentions: Nigel Hayes and Stefano Mancini

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hit Counter provided by Los Angeles SEO